Fish Dish for the WIN!

I have a board on my Pinterest called “Recipes I WILL Try.” Every Sunday when I make my menu for the week, I add the recipes for the meals I plan to make. Some recipes are hits, some are not, and some I add my own personal touches to.

After making the meal and eating it (or attempting to eat it), I ask DJ his thoughts about how he liked it. Usually it goes something like, “It was good, but next time…[different side, different type of meat, etc.]” ONCE it was, “Maybe never cook this again.” Ha.

Because of that and the fact that I eventually want to be Julia Child, I keep a journal of meals that I’ve cooked. In it are notes of the recipe- what I’ve changed, what doesn’t need to be changed, the best sides to go with it. (Does anyone else have a hard time with deciding on sides?) Then I know how to try to make it better the next time I cook it.

The funny part is, I get so excited about new recipes that we’ve been married for over a month and it’s always a new dish. He’s started to ask, “When are you going to make ____ again?” At what point do I start recycling my recipes?

So yesterday I made a fish dish that was such a WINNER, I just had to share. If you like fish, you don’t want to miss this one!

SWEET AND SPICY CITRUS TILAPIA

Photo: John Autry; Styling: Mindi Shapiro
Photo: John Autry; Styling: Mindi Shapiro

Get the recipe here.

This recipe is SO GOOD. DJ loved it. I loved it.

Side Note: Just because the recipe’s picture is perfect, does not mean that your meal will look like that. Mine looked like this:

Photo: ME
Photo: ME

One day it’ll look gourmet!

It’s the perfect combination of sweet and spicy (but not the heartburn kind of spicy!) The only change I made was that I sprinkled Chili Powder on the fish before broiling instead of Paprika because we didn’t have paprika. (You will find that I do that a LOT with ingredients. Oops.)

ALSO, make sure to thaw out your fish! I am absolutely horrible about forgetting to thaw meat.
Sorry, DJ. Dinner will be at 8:30 AGAIN.

Suggested sides that we had: 

Pasta Salad- I used the boxed kind. It’s okay to cheat sometimes!
Sauteed Asparagus- I melted butter in a skillet and then added asparagus and minced garlic. 

Photo: ME
Photo: ME

I feel like this meal was an A+!

If you try it, let me know what you think and any changes you would make. =)

xo,
Elyse

Leave a Reply

