My Response to June 26.

Yesterday was a shock to many as the Supreme Court made the final decision to give the gay community the right to get married in all 50 states.

As I opened my Facebook, I was one of the thousands who were blasted with a mixture of rainbows and hatred.

You don’t have to agree, but here are my personal thoughts:

I am not surprised. This country may have been founded on Biblical principles, but from the beginning it started to fail in that area. It has only gotten more sinful as time has passed. But God predicted that for the world (2 Timothy 3). Our government changing the constitution, not voting in the favor of God, being corrupt; all of that should not be a surprise to Christians.

I believe in the Bible. I am a Christian that follows Christ and believes what the Bible says. Yes, I believe to practice homosexuality is against what God wants for us. I also believe getting drunk, having sex outside of marriage, having an affair, saying “Oh my God,” disrespecting your parents, murdering that person who cut you off at work (even if it’s just in your head) and listening to Beyonce more than you talk to God are all sins just as equal.  I don’t see anywhere in Scripture where homosexuality is a sin greater than any other. I see where Christians are showing fear instead of love because this particular sin is now out in the open and accepted. Fear is not of God.

“This is how love is made among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgement: In this world we are like Jesus. There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.” 1 John 4:17-18

I see this as a reminder of what God put me here for.  You won’t find me on social media bashing non-Christians or Christians who don’t believe the same as me. I will never bash. I will still hang out with my friends who believe different than me. I won’t push anyone away. Instead, I see everything that is going on as a reminder to live for Christ. It may look different than how you think it should look. But I believe it is my job to make sure that I have prayed for and reached out to everyone I know to let them know about Christ. It is not my job to judge anyone for their sin.

Should the opportunity come up where I have a relationship with someone and they ask me my opinion, I will honestly let them know that God wants better for them than that sin, whatever it may be. He loves them and wants to protect them. But I do not believe that God put me here to change our nation and Government as a whole. Start with those around you and the more people that are close to God’s heart, the better we can change this world. If we don’t see a difference, maybe we are not doing our job. 

Finally, God still sits on the Throne. No matter what happens in this world, it is all temporary. Now and in the end of ends God will still be sitting on the throne. Nothing that anyone- person, government or country- does can change who God is and the fact that He is still God. I will choose not to waste my energy on this social media war. I need to save all that energy to be the best Christian I can while God has me here.

I encourage my brothers and sisters in Christ to not react according to emotions, but to pray and ask God how he wants us to react in situations like these. 

xo,

Elyse

(Rainbow Photo Credit: Petr Kratochvile)

4 thoughts on “My Response to June 26.

Leave a Reply

